Bye Bye Miss American Pie - Don McLean Song (1 Viewer)

• Welcome to the Roundtable! If you have an account already, please sign in, otherwise feel free to register. Note that you will be unable to post or access some boards and information unless you sign in.

Linda

Sweetheart of the Rodeo
Staff member
Global Moderator
Administrator
Board Moderator
Jul 20, 2016
It was 1971, and I was a college freshman when this song came out. It was different from the grittier rock-n-roll songs of the era - maybe a poignant remembering or a fond farewell to hopes and dreams of a generation. I did not get those meanings at the time, but I do now.

We grew up riding bikes, climbing trees, going to football games, and performing in the drill-team squad. The music was great and not so fettered as now. We also lived with school drills in case of nuclear attack, Cuban Missile Crises, assassinations, riots (in other cities), and protests against the Viet Nam war. When the war ended, nothing changed, and we went on to jobs and raising families. Even in my mainstream life, I still retained my rebel status. I managed Ok because I was smart and people needed me, plus I could always make people laugh.

Last night I watched a program about how this song was made, and even 50 years later, it continues to be a world-wide favorite. As clips of the song played, I found myself enveloped in a melancholy over events of the past few years. It was as if we are saying goodbye again - this time to decent education, healing medicine versus pills and surgery, honest leaders, free and fair elections - well, the list goes on. Tulsi Gabbard summed it up well in this comment in an interview with Jessie Watters last night. Gabbard on Fox News