Dear "Skeptics," Bash Homeopathy and Bigfoot Less, Mammograms and War More (1 Viewer)

• Welcome to the Roundtable! If you have an account already, please sign in, otherwise feel free to register. Note that you will be unable to post or access some boards and information unless you sign in.

Pod

Collected Consciousness
Staff member
RT Supporter
Board Moderator
Jul 19, 2016
Scotland
I’m a science journalist. I don’t celebrate science, I criticize it, because science needs critics more than cheerleaders. I point out gaps between scientific hype and reality. That keeps me busy, because, as you know,most peer-reviewed scientific claims are wrong.

So I’m a skeptic, but with a small S, not capital S. I don’t belong to skeptical societies. I don’t hang out with people who self-identify as capital-S Skeptics. Or Atheists. Or Rationalists.

When people like this get together, they become tribal. They pat each other on the back and tell each other how smart they are compared to those outside the tribe. But belonging to a tribe often makes you dumber.

http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/cross-check/dear-skeptics-bash-homeopathy-and-bigfoot-less-mammograms-and-war-more/

Maryann

Frequency Modulator
Staff member
RT Supporter
Global Moderator
Board Moderator
Jul 25, 2016
ninespath.com
I love this article! I am a skeptic; I want to understand, not just take someone's word for it that something is as they say. I've worked in scientific environments a good deal of my professional life, and I know what goes on when it comes to wanting data to conform to an idea. Data can be considered malleable when there's money to be made. So, pay no attention to what's really going on with real people's experiences, just listen to the scientifics when they reel off reasons that you're a fool to entertain such nonsense. Science has betrayed itself. Dawkins gives me a headache. o_O